Food Truck Return: The Everyday Chef and Wife

When I started writing this blog, I told myself that I would try to keep it fresh and not repeat restaurants/trucks/food for some time, but here I am writing about The Everyday Chef and Wife for the third time. It is easy to repeat myself and say how much I love their food as I frequent them so much, they know me by name. Today’s post is a fun story that ends with a really tasty dish…

A few weeks ago, I stopped by the truck and saw Coney Fries on the menu. As a native of Michigan, I LOVE Coney Dogs. For those who don’t know, the concept of a Coney Dog is simple: A Hot Dog topped with a meat sauce and usually mustard and onion. What is fascinating is that in Michigan there are two prominent types of Coney Dogs: Detroit Style and Flint Style.

PicMonkey Collage
Detroit Style (L) and Flint Style (R)

The sauce of the Detroit Coney is more of a liquid sauce whereas the Flint Coney is more of a dry topping. As a native of Flint, I do prefer my homeland’s coney to that of the Motor City. Now back to the story…

When I approached the truck window, I was intrigued at the prospect of Coney Fries. I asked them if it was more of a Flint style or Detroit style. They said Detroit and I quickly dismissed the dish. Later on, we conversed on Facebook and they said I should still give it a try. After a brief disappearance on the menu, they returned today and I am proud to say that I was pleasantly surprised.

IMG_5680

While I still hold the highest place for a Coney from Flint, I LOVED this dish. The sauce was hearty with a nice balance of sweet and savory. The fries were perfectly cooked and did I mention there was cheese included? I am humbled to say that I ate my words and boy, were they tasty.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

